Thursday, May 07, 2015

Rich Bloch to Lecture at Ring 50 on JUNE 10th

    Rich Bloch is a magician, comedic performer, attorney, and loving husband, father, and grandfather. He is an inventor of illusions, with magicians all over the globe using his techniques and apparatus, including David Copperfield, Siegfried and Roy, and during their lifetimes, Harry Blackstone Jr. and Doug Henning. Orson Welles called Rich "An Edison of Magic."
    But magic performing is never far from the center of Rich's heart. He performs regularly as a featured guest in reviews at Las Vegas’ Golden Nugget, Sahara, and Flamingo Hotels, with appearances, as well, at the Tropicana, Rio, Monte Carlo, Venetian and Mirage hotels. He is a featured entertainer on a wide variety of cruise lines, and a favorite headliner at Hollywood's famed Magic Castle and was a 2002 nominee for Stage Magician of the Year at the Castle.
    The lecture will be held at Bishop Ireton HS, 201 Cambridge Rd, Alexadria VA. The lecture is free to I.B.M. Ring 50 members. All other magicians may attend the lecture for a $15 fee.

"Magicians of the Year" – 

Arnold Fuoco & Noland Montgomery

Arnold Fuoco, Cecelia (Lacey) Ritchie, and Noland Montgomery

    The May 6th meeting was the event of the year, the competition for the Dan Lacey Memorial Trophy and the title “Magician of the Year”. The late Dan Lacey was a president of Ring 50 (1999-2000) who inspired others--especially newcomers to magic—to hone their skills. The contest provided an opportunity to recognize the exceptional magic skills of our members. Larry Lipman (president 2002-03) established the contest in 2003 to honor the deceased magician. The winner received a rotating trophy and a spot to perform at the 2016 Ring 50 Magi-Whirl and a free convention registration.
    The contestants were: Stan Hillard, Joe Mielnicki, Noland Montgomery, Arnold Fuoco and Eric Henning. After some stellar performances that amazed the Ring 50 members, the panel of judges declared the winners. Arnold Fuoco and Noland Montgomery both had the top scores!  Both will share the coveted first place honors as “Magicians of the Year”.
    Second place went to Eric Henning with third place Stan Hillard adding to the fierce completion. CONGRATULATIONS Arnold and Noland!